University of Missouri System

The first reference to the four-campus University System (Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla and St. Louis) should be University of Missouri System. On second reference, use UM System. Do not use System as a standalone.

The four universities in the UM System are identified as followed:

  • University of Missouri–Columbia (MU or Mizzou, not UMC; only include “-Columbia” if writing for the UM System level or with another UM System university)
  • University of Missouri–Kansas City (UMKC)
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology (Missouri S&T)
  • University of Missouri–St. Louis (UMSL)

In the cases above, use an en dash (medium dash) rather than a hyphen when possible: University of Missouri–St. Louis.

For more information, see the Collected Rules and Regulations of the UM System: Chapter 170.060 university identification and symbols.